“Fruitvale” sweeps Sundance awards; “The Spectacular Now” leads take Special Jury Award for Acting

January 26, 2013 | Posted By In Awards | 1133 Views

Share This!
                      Share on Tumblr

Another fabulous year for rising stars has just concluded the Sundance Film Festival, which wrapped up 2013 with its annual award ceremony tonight in Utah, hosted by Joseph Gordon-Levitt, whose directorial debut “Don Jon’s Addiction” ended up being one of the bestsellers of the fest.

The award season for next year got off to an early start as Ryan Coogler’s directorial debut “Fruitvale” starring Michael B. Jordan swept the US Dramatic Competition category, winning both the Audience Award and the top prize of the night: The Grand Jury Prize. The film, which co-stars Octavia Spencer, Ahna O’Reilly and Melonie Diaz, captivated Sundance with its gritty retelling of the true story of Oscar Grant (Jordan), who was tragically fatally shot by police in a scuffle in the Bay Area on New Year’s Eve 2009. Its awards potential was immediately obvious and Oscar heavyweight Harvey Weinstein took note, buying the film for more than $2 million, beating out Fox Searchlight, Paramount Pictures, Focus Features and CBS Films. An awards-friendly fall release date can’t be far behind for this year’s festival’s undeniable winner.

“The Spectacular Now”, the other big buzzed about film of the fest, took home a Special Jury Prize for Acting for its two young stars Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley. The two have received rave reviews from festival goers for their portrayal of a high school couple in James Ponsoldt’s coming of age drama. The film was picked up by upstart distribution company A24, so we’ll have to wait and see how much the film figures into next year’s awards race. A summer release is tentatively scheduled.

The full list of awards are below.

+ U.S. Grand Jury Prize: Documentary – Blood Brother
+ U.S. Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic – Fruitvale
+ World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Documentary – A River Changes Course
+ World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic – Jiseul
+ Audience Award: U.S. Documentary – Blood Brother
+ Audience Award: U.S. Dramatic – Fruitvale
+ Audience Award: World Cinema Documentary – The Square (Al Midan)
+ Audience Award: World Cinema Dramatic – Metro Manila
+ Audience Award: Best of NEXT – This is Martin Bonner
+ Directing Award: U.S. Documentary – Cutie and the Boxer
+ Directing Award: U.S. Dramatic – Afternoon Delight
+ Directing Award: World Cinema Documentary – The Machine Which Makes Everything Disappear
+ Directing Award: World Cinema Dramatic – Crystal Fairy
+ Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: U.S. Dramatic – In a World…
+ Screenwriting Award: World Cinema Dramatic – Wajma (An Afghan Love Story)
+ Editing Award: U.S. Documentary – Gideon’s Army
+ Editing Award: World Cinema Documentary – The Summit
+ Cinematography Award: U.S. Documentary – Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield
+ Cinematography Award: U.S. Dramatic – Ain’t Them Bodies Saints and Mother of George
+ Cinematography Award: World Cinema Documentary – Who is Dayani Cristal?
+ Cinematography Award: World Cinema Dramatic – Lasting
+ U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Achievement in Filmmaking – Inequality for All
+ U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Achievement in Filmmaking – American Promise
+ U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Acting – The Spectacular Now
+ U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Sound Design – Upstream Color
+ World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award – Circles
+ World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Punk Spirit – Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer
+ Short Film Audience Award – Catnip: Egress to Oblivion


Tags : , , , , , , , , , , , , ,




Linda is currently a Film Reporter at TheWrap. She studied Film & Digital Media at the University of California. She likes David Fincher, New York City, and cats. She founded Up&Comers in 2010. You can find more of her random ramblings, 140 characters at a time, on Twitter @lindazge.